Indo-American Psychiatric Association   
Annual Meeting & Banquet

27th Annual Scientific Program of the IAPA: Sunday May 21, 2006
1:30pm to 4:30pm

Hilton Toronto
Governor General's Suite, Second Floor
145 Richmond Street West
Toronto, Ontario M5H212

1:30pmWelcomeAsha Mishra, MD
President, IAPA

1:40pmTribute to Dr. Jambur AnanthAnand Pandurangi, MD
Professor and Chair, Inpatient Psychiatry, Virginia Commonwealth Univ
Director, Schizophrenia Research, Virginia Commonwealth Univ

1:50pmOutstanding Academician LectureLessons from the Brain
PresenterPhilip Ninan, MD
Director, Mood and Anxiety Disorders Program, Emory Univ
Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory Univ

2:10pmSymposium ThemePsychiatry and the Arts
ModeratorPrakash Desai, MD
Professor, Psychiatry, Univ of Illinois at Chicago

Lecture Psychiatry and Bollywood
Presenter Dinesh Bhugra, MBBS, FRC Psych
Dean, Royal College of Psychiatrists, London, UK
Professor, Mental Health/Cultural Diversity, Institute of Psychiatry, London, UK

Lecture Psychiatry and the Visual Arts: The Psychiatrist and Her Canvas
Presenter Jaswant Guzder MD
Head, Child Psychiatry, Institute of Community/Family Psychiatry, Montreal, Canada

Lecture Psychiatry and Poetry: Pain and Pathos
Presenter Rishma Dunlop PhD
Associate Professor, Literary Studies and Fine Arts, York Univ, Toronto, Canada

4:25pmVote of ThanksSurinder Nand, MD
President-Elect, IAPA

Annual Business Meeting and Banquet: Sunday May 21, 2006
7:00pm to 11:00pm

Hilton Toronto
Governor General's Suite, Second Floor
145 Richmond Street West
Toronto, Ontario M5H212

6:00pmRegistration All guests

7:00pmCocktails and Social Hour All guests

8:00pmPresident's AddressAsha Mishra, MD
President, IAPA

8:15pmAwards Ceremony

Outstanding Academician Award Philip Ninan, MD
Director, Mood/Anxiety Disorders Program, Emory Univ School
Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory Univ, GA

Service AwardMalathi Koli, MD
Medical Director, NIX Adult Psychiatric Acute Care Program, San Antonio, TX

Exemplary Public Sector Psychiatrist AwardChandragupta S. Vedak, MD
Staff Psychiatrist, Elgin Mental Health Center, Elgin, IL

Dr. Jyotsana Pandya Outstanding
Resident Award
Biju Basil, MD
Drexel Univ College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

8:30 p.m.Business MeetingAsha Mishra, MD
Treasurer's ReportRudra Prakash, MD
Vote of ThanksSurinder Nand, MD
9:00 p.m.Banquet All guests

Registration Fees Required for Banquet

For registration, please contact Shiv Hatti, MD
Phone: 610-891-9024 ext 104
Email: shatti1@aol.com

Registration for Life Members and Spouses, and Residents: Free before 5/2/06, and $10/person after 5/2/06.
Registration for All Others: $20/person before 5/2/06, and $30/person after 5/2/06.

Cash Bar Available at Banquet


Previous IAPA Meetings

26th Annual Meeting, Atlanta, Georgia, 2005

25th Annual Meeting, New York, 2004

24th Annual Meeting, San Francisco, 2003

For website issues, contact nrao@myiapa.org
Copyright (C) 2003-2009 IAPA. All rights reserved.