Indo American Psychiatric Association (IAPA)
Indo-American Psychiatric Association   

If this webpage looks skewed on your computer, you have an older version of the Browser. You need to download a newer version of IE8 or IE9


By Laws Revised April2015 

Constitution Revised April2015 

Election of Office Bearers April2015 

BOT Report April2015 

A Mentee's Tribute to Dr.Prakash Desai

2015 IAPA Awardees 

2015 Mentee-Mentor Awardees

IAPA Congratulates 2015 APA election winners



Dear Friends:

On behalf of Indo American Psychiatric Association, I extend a warm welcome to you for our 36th annual meeting on May 17th 2015, in Toronto Canada. Dr. Varadarajan Raghuraman has led the Canadian host team in organizing this meeting. Kudos to his efforts!

The annual meetings have always served as a platform for dissemination of scientific knowledge by IAPA academicians and recognize talent and merit of our members. The meetings have also provided an excellent venue to connect with colleagues and friends. I hope to see many of you at our meeting in Toronto. We are offering CME credits for physicians who attend the scientific meeting. Huge thanks to Dr. Meena Ramani for working with the American Psychiatric Association (APA) staff and making this happen.

It is with pride and joy I end my 2-years of presidency. With your support and contribution, we have accomplished a lot during this period. I have highlighted a few: IAPA Chapters Growth & Integration: Six new chapters have developed in the last 2 years: Florida, Massachusetts, Northern Virginia, Nebraska/Iowa, Ohio, and Texas/San Antonio. In addition, the Connecticut chapter has been rejuvenated. My sincere thanks to all chapter Presidents for their dedication and commitment to IAPA.

They are: Dr. Padma Aking (Arizona), Dr. Khenu Singh (California), Dr. Sanjay Banerjee (Connecticut), Dr. Babu Rankupalli (Florida), Dr. Ajita Joglekar (Georgia), Dr. Edwin Simon (Illinois), Dr. Pramit Rastogi (Maryland),  Dr. Rohit Chandra (Massachusetts), Dr. Subhash Bhatia (Nebraska/Iowa), Dr. Ashok Patel (New Jersey), Dr. Devendra Amin (New York), Dr. A. Adityanjee (Cleveland/Ohio), Dr. Hari Vemulapalli (Pittsburgh/Pennsylvania), Dr. Saran Mudumbi (Tennessee),  Dr. Malathi Koli (San Antonio/Texas),  Dr. Chand Nair (Tristate),  Dr. TG.Sriram (Richmond/Virginia) and Dr. CM Prasad (Northern Virginia).

My deepest gratitude to our councilors, Drs. Bhagirathy Sahasranaman and Bhargavi Devineni for doing a superb job of maintaining monthly dialogues between the chapter presidents.

MIT Growth: Young members have been joining our organization at a steady pace. IAPA is committed to their growth and this significant improvement in the rate of young membership is particularly heartening. I sincerely hope this continues. My sincere appreciation to all who are making this happen: Chapter presidents, MIT representatives (Drs. Manan Shah and Raman Baweja), and ECT representative (Dr. Durga Roy).

Advances in Technology: We now have an electronic newsletter! Thanks to the efforts of our young members: Dr. Rajiv Radhakrishnan and his team (Drs. Amit Chopra, Lily Arora and Shirshendu Sinha). The face book created recently by Dr. Manan Shah, continues to be increasingly popular.

Fund Raising & Finances: Our councilor, Dr. Ranga Ram has been leading the effort on raising funds and I am happy to say that his hard work has been bearing fruits. Dr. Manoj Shah (Chair of the Finance committee) and Dr. Dilip Patel have done a tremendous job to ensure that IAPA’s financial health continues to be positive.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 IAPA awards: Dr. Paramjit Toor Joshi(Outstanding Academician), Dr. George Mathews (Outstanding Service Award), Dr. Pratap Narayan (Outstanding Public Sector Award), Dr. Rajiv Radhakrishnan (Outstanding Resident), and Dr. Surinder Nand (IAPA President’s Award). Drs. Ankur Patel and Tanuja Gandhi are the winners of the 2015 Mentee-Mentor awards.

None of my work would have been possible without assistance from my team. My heartfelt gratitude to them. They include members of the Executive Committee (Drs. Ashwin Patkar, Dilip Patel, and Meena Ramani), Extended Executive Committee (Drs. Ranga Ram, Bhagirathy Sahasranamn, Bhargavi Devineni, Durga Roy, Raman Baweja and Manan Shah), International Liaison (Dr. Rajiv Tandon), Editor (Dr. Amit Chopra) and Board of Trustees (Drs. Ramaswamy Viswanathan, Rudra Prakash, Nalini Juthani, Manoj Shah, Asha Mishra, Surinder Nand and Ashok Van).

I am confident that the new team under the leadership of Dr. Ashwin Patkar will continue to keep IAPA flag flying high and proud. I wish him and his team the very best.

Finally, I am grateful for the opportunity to serve you. Without your support, this opportunity would not have been a fun and learning experience for me. Thank You!


Vani Rao, MD

President, IAPA.

As always, do not hesitate to contact any of the IAPA office bearers with questions and/or comments


Agenda Scientific Meeting & Banquet, May 17 2015 Register 

168th APA Meeting
May 16-20, 2015 Toronto, Canada.

WPA Regional Congress, Kochi, India, 25-27 Sep 2015

169th APA Meeting
May 14-18, 2016 Atlanta, GA.

"Be the change
that you wish to see in the world."

Mohandas K. Gandhi


IAPA-OMNA Meeting, April 2014 Photos 

For website issues, contact
Copyright (C) 2003-2009 IAPA. All rights reserved.